Skip to main content
Ad (425x293)

Former SNP chief's legal aid cut after embezzlement conviction

Former SNP chief executive Peter Murrell has had his legal aid withdrawn after being jailed for embezzling over £400,000 from the party. The Scottish Legal Aid Board has not disclosed why support was terminated, though guidance suggests false information or asset disclosure failures may be grounds.

By The UK Pulse Editorial Team··4 min read·How we work
A man who is bald with glasses in a close-up shot, wearing a business suit

Peter Murrell, the former SNP chief executive jailed in June for embezzling more than £400,000 from the party, has had his legal aid withdrawn. The estranged husband of ex-First Minister Nicola Sturgeon was sentenced to five years after using party funds to purchase items ranging from a luxury motorhome to toiletries and jewellery.

Murrell was informed on 28 July that he would no longer receive government-funded legal assistance, according to reporting by a Scottish newspaper. The Scottish Legal Aid Board confirmed that Murrell was "no longer in receipt of legal aid" but declined to explain the reasons for the withdrawal.

Why was legal aid withdrawn?

The board has not publicly disclosed why support was terminated. Its published guidance lists several grounds for withdrawing legal aid, including provision of false information, failure to disclose relevant facts, or falling behind on contributions. According to reporting on the case, the Scottish Legal Aid Board cannot count frozen assets when assessing eligibility for funding. Murrell's assets were frozen under a restraint order made under the Proceeds of Crime Act 2002, which may have affected his financial assessment.

What was the cost of his legal representation?

Approximately £4,831 of legal aid had been spent on Murrell's case by the time of his conviction. A Scottish Legal Aid Board spokesperson previously indicated that further payments were anticipated, as legal representatives can submit bills during proceedings or up to four months after a case concludes. The board has not disclosed whether it will seek to recover the £4,831 already paid or whether additional bills have been received.

What does Murrell's financial situation look like?

During sentencing, the court heard that Murrell held more than £600,000 across two pension accounts and would be capable of repaying the embezzled sum of £400,310.65. However, according to recent reporting, the SNP's latest accounts reveal the party still owes Murrell £60,000 of the £107,620 he lent to the organisation in June 2021. This outstanding debt complicates the financial picture surrounding his case.

Ad (425x293)

What crimes did Murrell commit?

Murrell used charge cards, bank transfers and fake invoices to illicitly purchase a range of items including jewellery, cosmetics, stationery and games consoles. The most significant purchase was a £124,500 motorhome acquired in 2020. When the vehicle was seized from his mother's driveway in Dunfermline three years later, it had only four miles on the clock.

The motorhome parked outside Peter Murrell's mother's house.
The motorhome was parked at the home of Murrell's mother after being picked up in Rosyth

Police Scotland began investigating SNP finances in 2021 after questions emerged about the fate of £667,000 raised for a second independence referendum campaign. The investigation into those concerns ultimately uncovered Murrell's embezzlement scheme.

When was legal aid initially granted?

According to available records, Murrell's application for solemn legal aid was approved on 30 April 2025, after he was charged. Legal aid is typically granted to individuals who would struggle to afford legal representation, though in some cases recipients are required to make their own contribution.

What happens next?

Murrell's proceeds-of-crime hearing has been scheduled for 7 December 2026 at 09:30 in Edinburgh's High Court. This hearing will determine what assets must be recovered from him as proceeds of his crimes. The Scottish Legal Aid Board's guidance indicates that if funding was withdrawn because an applicant provided false or incomplete information, the board may seek to recover its full outlay, and suspected offences may be reported to the procurator fiscal.

Key Facts:

  • Murrell was sentenced to five years in June 2024 for embezzling £400,310.65 from the SNP
  • He held more than £600,000 in pension accounts and was deemed capable of repaying the embezzled funds
  • Approximately £4,831 of legal aid was spent before funding was withdrawn on 28 July
  • His assets remain frozen under a Proceeds of Crime Act restraint order
  • A proceeds-of-crime hearing is scheduled for 7 December 2026

This article was sourced from bbc

Ad (425x293)

Related News